Cultural & Artistic attractions

Click to open

Notre-Dame Cathedrale

The most striking aspect of Strasbourg Cathedral is its sheer size. At 142.15 metres high, this gothic tour de force was, until the 19th century, the tallest Christian church in the world. 

From the outside, the cathedral’s façade is like a large-scale medieval picture book. Hundreds of intricate sculptures seem to be crawling off the wall, accentuating the effects created by shadow and light, while the colour of the pink sandstone changes with the hour of the day and the colour of the sky. Elsewhere, the interior boasts magnificent stained-glass windows and a masterpiece of an astronomical clock with a timing mechanism dating back to 1842.  
  
Cathédrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg 
Place de la Cathédrale 
67000 Strasbourg 
   
Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The astronomical clock

One of the standout features of the Notre-Dame Cathedral, the astronomical clock is a Renaissance masterpiece and the fruit of a unique collaboration between artists, mathematicians and engineers. The mechanism that greets visitors today was completed in 1842, thanks to the joint efforts of a team of Swiss watchmakers, sculptors, painters and clockwork engineers. 

The clock’s main attraction is its mechanical procession, which takes place every lunchtime. When the clock strikes 12:30, the different ages of life – represented by a child, a teenager, an adult and an elderly man – file past Death. Further up, depictions of the Apostles parade past Jesus. The procession is accompanied by a life-size cock flapping its wings and crowing, while the whole scene takes place in the shadow of the astonishing Pillar of Angels, a wonderfully original representation of the Last Judgment. 

Cathédrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg 
Place de la Cathédrale 
67000 Strasbourg 

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The Palais Rohan

The Palais Rohan in Strasbourg was designed by Robert de Cotte, King Louis XV’s chief architect, and constructed between 1732 and 1742. It was originally intended for Cardinal Armand-Gaston de Rohan-Soubise, the Prince-Bishop of Strasbourg. 
  
The structure of the monument was based around the architecture of the grand city mansions in Paris. From the noble and classical splendour of its facades, to its sumptuous interior, the Episcopal palace of Strasbourg stands as one of the finest architectural feats of 18th century France.  
  
Built, decorated and furnished in the space of just ten years, this lavish residence boasts a remarkable architectural unity and has remained largely unaltered since its construction. 
  
The city’s Fine Arts Museum was opened in the palace in 1889, followed by the Museum of Archaeology in 1913 and the Museum of Decorative  Arts in 1924.
 
All three museums are open every day (apart from Tuesdays) between 10:00 and 18:00. 
They are exceptionally closed on New Year’s Day, Good Friday, 1 May, 1 November, 11 November and Christmas Day.

Tram: alight at Langstross/Grand Rue (on lines A and D) 

Buses: 10, 14 and 24 

Palais Rohan 
2 Place du Château 
67000 Strasbourg 
  
Telephone: +33 (0)3 88 52 50 00

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

Petite France

La Petite-France is a historic residential district nestling on the island at the heart of Strasbourg. It used to be the home of the city’s tanners, fishermen and millers. These days its picturesque setting, half-timbered 16th- and 17th-century houses, canals and abundant restaurants attract tourists from the world over.

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The Vauban Dam

The Vauban Dam – known to locals as the barrage Vaubangrande écluse or terrasse Vauban – is a bridge and weir system in Strasbourg that has been officially named as a listed historic monument. Located only a stone’s throw from the famous Ponts Couverts, the dam was constructed in around 1690 by architect Jacques Tarade from plans provided by renowned military engineer Sébastien Le Prestre de Vauban. The dam made it possible, in exceptional circumstances, to flood the southern flank of the city. 

Nowadays, a delightful panoramic terrace has been installed at the top of the building. 

Petite France
Strasbourg 

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The ponts couverts

The Ponts Couverts are located on the western edge of the Petite-France neighbourhood. They have kept their name – the ‘Covered Bridges’ – in spite of their roofs being removed in the 18th century. They are overlooked by four towers, still standing from the remains of the ancient city walls that were built to protect the independence of the Republic of Strasbourg way back in the 14th century. Immediately after Strasbourg became a French city, in 1681, a new layer of fortifications was built by Vauban.  

Petite France
Strasbourg  

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The musée Alsacien

The Musée Alsacien takes visitors on a charming tour through a series of ancient residences connected by staircases and wooden walkways. Thousands of objects are on display that had been features of everyday life in rural Alsace in the 18th and 19th centuries, including clothing, furniture, pots, toys, and religious and profane imagery. The Musée Alsacien creates a unique atmosphere in which visitors stroll among these items as if they were in a recently-abandoned house. 

The Musée Alsacien has been open for 110 years and now receives 64,000 visitors every year to marvel at the 5,000 objects on display. 

Open every day except Tuesdays, between 10:00 and 18:00. 

Access: 
-      Bus 10 – alight at Corbeau 
-      Bus 30 – alight at Saint-Guillaume 
-      Bus 14 and 24 - alight at Ancienne Douane 
-      Tram A and D - alight at Porte de l’Hôpital 

 23-25 Quai Saint-Nicolas, 
 67000 Strasbourg 

Tel: +33 (0)3 68 98 51 52  

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

Neustadt

Neustadt is one of Europe’s most remarkable and best-preserved urban redevelopments from the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. In the 1880s, the city’s German rulers ordered the undertaking of significant building work with a view to tripling the city’s size. Up until that point, Strasbourg had always been limited to its historic boundaries, sitting snugly among the protective meanders of the River Ill. 

First and foremost, this new urban expansion project was about marking the change in regime and the rise of the new power. The Imperial Square, now renamed the Place de la République, was the centre point of a new development made up of official buildings overlooked by the Palais du Rhin, the Emperor’s place of residence when he visited the city. 

But it was also about providing much-needed housing. The annexation of Strasbourg led to a considerable wave of German immigration, and in 45 years the city’s population more than doubled (from 80,000 residents in 1870 to 180,000 in 1915). The Neustadt district is therefore full of upmarket shared residential buildings offering all mod cons (including “water and gas on all floors”, as the enamel plaques on the outside walls still proudly announce) as well as, further removed from the main avenues, smaller individual residences. 

In terms of style, eclecticism reigns supreme and contributes to the irrefutable charm of the neighbourhood. Abundantly-decorated Art Nouveau buildings stand alongside elegant villas parodying their over-elaborate style, while the neo-gothic spires of Saint Paul’s Church loom in the distance. The result is a rather pleasant sense of architectural disorientation. 

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The municipal baths

Like Saint Paul’s Church and the Palais du Rhin, Strasbourg’s municipal baths date back to the urban development project launched by the Germans during the period between 1870 and 1918. 
  
Completed in 1908, the building was classified as a listed historical monument in the year 2000. Its lavish décor is perfectly conducive to rest and relaxation. It Now offering a variety of services, the municipal baths have remained hugely popular with locals up until the present day. 

The site’s facilities include: 
-       one large swimming pool and one smaller swimming pool 
-      a Roman bath 
-      saunas 
-      bathrooms and showering facilities 
-       a solarium 

 10 Boulevard de la Victoire
 67000 Strasbourg 

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 25 17 58

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The jardin des deux rives

A symbol of the friendship that exists between the French and their German neighbours, the Jardin des Deux Rives is the garden where the two countries’ heads of state met at a NATO summit in 2009. It stretches out from either side of the Pont de l’Europe, over a total of 150 hectares on the banks of the Rhine. Located a short distance from the urban centres of Strasbourg and Kehl, this unique setting regularly hosts cultural events. Temporary gardening competitions, flower shows, concerts, dance and street art events have all been held at the gardens, much to the delight of visitors from France, Germany and beyond.

3 rue des Cavaliers
67000 Strasbourg

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

The European parliament

The parliamentary body of the European Union, the European Parliament has been based in Strasbourg since 1999. It is open to visitors both during and outside of the parliament’s plenary sessions.

From 8 September, individual visitors (groups of ten people and under) are welcome to visit on Friday afternoons (13:30-18:00) and all day on Saturdays (09:00-18:00). Specific opening times are also available for individual visitors over the summer months – advanced booking is mandatory, with a minimum of 24 hours’ notice.

Click here for more information on planning your visit to the European Parliament: http://bit.ly/2xPC8UW  

Allée du Printemps
67070 STRASBOURG CEDEX
Tel: +33 (0)3 88 17 40 01

Photo credits: http://www.otstrasbourg.fr/fr/

0 item(s)
Total

Select Language